it may not be cheaper to make your own cushions. . .


I made a bench cushion for my 81″ long bench in my kitchen.  Cushions always seem to be expensive, so I made my own.  The foam alone was well over $100 and that was with a 40% coupon.  The foam is a petroleum based product which accounts for some of the cost, but foam is just expensive.  Then I purchased 3 yards of sunbrella fabric so that it would be easier to clean.  I spent about $200 on just the materials, and I still had to make it!

I used an envelope method (where it overlaps in the back)  that my sewing teacher taught me in Oak Park.  It is easier and quicker than a zipper pillow. My first cushion I made was for my outdoor bench:

 

I made the cover too big and had to buy another piece of foam to put in it so that it would fit.  Fortunately, I had purchased 2″ foam, so that the final product was a nice comfy 4″ cushion.  for my Kitchen bench I purchased 4″ foam to start with, so I had to measure very carefully to make sure it was the correct width and length.  I did have to rip out one seam, but overall it went much smoother this time around.

My bench seat is 19″ deep, and the fabric had enough width to it that I could simply finish both ends, and there would be enough to wrap around the width of my cushion and leave a nice overlap in the back.  I then added 4″ to the 19″ to account for the height of the foam and folded the fabric so that it would have the appropriate width after it overlaped.  I then sewed up one end and boxed the corners. This is a good link from Craft Apple on how to box corners.  It is the final end that you sew that is so tricky.  I had to double check my cushion length and again add the 4″ to account for the height of the foam.   I sewed the seam and boxed the corners again, and viola, a very expensive homemade cushion!

This is the underside so you can see the seams, boxed corners and how the envelope opens in the back.


Just some random cuteness.  I found my children sitting together on the same chair (not using the 6 foot long cushion I just made!)

also, anyone remember Shirt Tales?

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Avis
    May 12, 2013 @ 12:12:20

    Hello colleagues, how is all, and what you want to say concerning this post, in my view its genuinely awesome in favor
    of me.

    Reply

  2. size bag
    May 03, 2013 @ 02:44:42

    You are so cool! I do not believe I have read a single
    thing like this before. So good to find somebody with unique thoughts
    on this subject. Really.. thank you for starting
    this up. This site is something that is required on the internet,
    someone with some originality!

    Reply

  3. small travel trailers for sale
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 11:24:52

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker
    who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me
    breakfast due to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this issue here on your website.

    Reply

  4. treatment for hair loss
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 00:00:16

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back often!

    Reply

  5. rebekah
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 01:21:30

    Beautiful, Leah!

    And I had a ShirtTales sleeping bag 🙂

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Outdoor Double Glider Cushion Fabric: Skyworks Multi | Patio & Garden Supplies
  7. jessi
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 08:00:53

    I agree with Becca, it looks fantastic and your focus paid off 🙂 About 3 years ago I thought making my own purse would be cheaper, $100 later it was *by far* the most expensive purse I have ever had. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Becca (Harstine) Braham
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 21:52:54

    Your cushion turned out great!! And only ripping out one seam is pretty darn impressive on a project with such exact measurements. I’ve never tried an envelope opening before. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen it before! I need to look around my house for an excuse… I mean project… that I could try it on. Your box corners look really good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

