Snow, Snow Globes and Scones


I love snowy days when we have absolutely nowhere to be or go.

Today was one of those lovely days where the kids stayed in their pajamas most of the day.  We lounged around the house, our next door neighbors stopped by for a bit, and I tried to bask in the yoga pant/sweatshirt/dry-shampoo hair day glory of being a mom of young children.

I have always loved to bake, and I already see that love in my daughter as she measures and talks about what ingredients go into a recipe.  I really love to bake on cold winter days when there is no immediate need to wash the dishes.  (Dishes are the only reason why I don’t bake every day.)  Today we made these delicious scones.  This recipe was given to me by a dear church lady that attended the moms Bible study I used to go to in Oak Park- it is super yummy and super easy to make, and I usually have all of the ingredients on hand.

Cranberry, Walnut and Lemon Scones

  • 1 cup, plus 2 Tbsp sugar, divided
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice, divided
  •  3 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ¾ cup (1-1/2 sticks) chilled butter, diced
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup coarsely chopped walnuts
  • ½ cup (or more) chilled half and half (I have used milk and it turns out fine)
  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF and line baking sheet with parchment (you can also spray with no-stick spray if you don’t have parchment)
  2.  

  3. Whisk together 2 Tbsp sugar and 1 Tbsp lemon juice for the glaze and set aside.
  4. Blend together flour, baking powder, lemon zest, salt and 1 cup sugar in large bowl.
  5. Add butter and using fingertips, rub until a course meal forms. Mix in cranberries and walnuts.
  6. Add half and half and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice. Toss with a fork until dough comes together, adding more half and half if dough is dry (sometimes I add a little more lemon juice).
  7. Gather dough into a ball, divide in half. Press out each half on a floured surface to 6-inch diameter (1-inch high). Cut each round into 6 wedges. Transfer to baking sheet and brush with glaze.
  8. Bake until golden and tester comes out clean, about 18 minutes.

Makes some hot tea, turn on Pride and Prejudice and enjoy!

Snow Globe Fun

Bridget and I also made a snow globe today.  I originally got the idea from a parenting magazine email.  Their site has lots of great craft and recipe ideas that are pretty easy.  I googled how to make a snow globe and there are lots of sites that list how to do it, and I found this video on YouTube that was pretty helpful.

Baby food jars are perfect, but we were using a larger Tinkerbell cake topper, so we used a slightly larger glass jar.  The white glitter I had on hand was flaky and you could not see it in the water, so we used gold glitter (so not really snowy, but more fairy dusty).  I found the liquid glycerin in the face moisturizing section at the CVS and I used super glue to glue the figurine on the lid and let it dry overnight.

The key things to remember (especially when making with small children) are to glue the figurine on ahead of time and to also make sure you have distilled water (we used boiled tap water).  I forgot to make the water in advance, so Bridget had to wait for the boiled water to cool in the fridge.

A really fun, super quick and easy craft that can be customized many different ways . . . so save those baby food jars!

Leave a Reply

