Happy Birthday


Today is my nephew’s fourth birthday.  After taking a basic applique sewing class last year, I decided to practice my new skills and applique a few t-shirts for Bridget’s birthday with the number 3 and a robot (last year’s birthday theme). B loved her t-shirts so much, I decided to do it again this year.

Both my nephew and B love batman, so this year I made this t-shirt for both of them .

Custom made t-shirts, especially for birthdays are fun and the kids love them, but they can be very expensive.  I simply buy a pack of Hanes white t-shirts  and use whatever scraps of fabric I have lying around. For this t-shirt, I simply used felt and cut out a batman logo that I found online.  I used a straight stitch and outlined the logo first and then the number to secure them to the t-shirt.

Also because this blog is about cooking too:

 Favorite Cake recipe

(seriously that is the official name of the recipe!)

This recipe is from an old cookbook that my grandmother and mother used.  I never remember my mom ever using a cake mix when I was growing up.

Makes: 2, 8-inch round cakes  (because 8-inch is so hard to find, I usually increase the recipe by half for 9-inch rounds, see increases in parentheses)

Baking Time: about 30 minutes @ 375º F

  • 2 cups cake flour (you can use AP) (3 cups)
  • 3 tsp baking powder (1 Tbsp + 1 tsp)
  • 1/2 cup oil (3/4 cup)
  • 1 cup sugar (1-1/2 cups)
  • 1 tsp salt (1-1/2 tsp)
  • 1 tsp vanilla (1-1/2 tsp)
  • 2 eggs (3)
  • 3/4 cup milk (1 cup + 2 Tbsp)

1. Sift Flour and Baking Powder together and set aside

2. Cream Oil, Sugar, Salt and Vanilla.  Add Eggs one at a time until will mixed.

3. Add  Flour mixture  to Oil mixture, alternating with Milk, flour first and last, until well blended. In other words, add a little of the flour, then a little of the milk, then a little flour, than a little milk, etc.  (this prevents the cake from being tough from over mixing the flour)

4. Pour into greased pans (I prefer to spray mine with a  non-stick spray with flour, like Baker’s Joy) and bake at 375 ºF

5. Test with a toothpick or this cute cake tester to see if it is done (it should come out clean).

I usually bake with my children, they love to measure, mix and pour.  It usually makes a bigger mess and sometimes there is a little extra of an ingredient, but it is always worth it (at least most of the time anyways).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christa
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 07:56:02

    Leah, this is really, really cute. Love the new blog!

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 23:51:01

    he loved his shirt leah. i’m so glad he had it, and was able to wear it to preschool and feel special. especially since the day took such a disappointing turn. thank you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

